Significance and insignificance

Two months have passed since my last post, during which time our friend made it back from Nepal safely and I have, mostly, recovered from my fall in March.

Ruminating on the vagaries of life has led me to confirm in my own mind that both significance and insignificance are – like beauty – in the “eye” of the beholder to a large extent and one experience can be both.  My personal rate of recovery from Guillain-Barre Syndrome is significant to me because I want to get full recovery of my limbs and hands sooner rather than later.  Being dependent on others is destroying my feelings of self-worth.  I was a registered nurse in my youth and enjoyed being of service to others.  Having the tables turned is not an experience I ever contemplated and it had always been my wish to rather die young than to be a burden on others. As that is now water under the bridge, the culmination of my recovery will be insignicant in the larger scheme of life unless I do something positive with the experience.

The reality, however, is that full recovery may take years and I cannot sit around doing diddly until then.  So what can I do in the meanwhile?  I had offered my services to speak to newly diagnosed GBS patients to the doctors at the hospitals where I was treated in 2013 but they have never taken up that offer.  Instead, I’m now going to volunteer information and support via Facebook, email and my blog to individuals and support groups.

“All that you need to be successful and significant in life is in and around you.” 
― Ifeanyi Enoch Onuoha

It’s time I explored my significance.

About louisehasgbs

Still an optimist! Recovering from severe Guillain-Barre Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

