What thought did

I thought my fall just resulted in two sore legs but it turned out that I have two avulsion fractures, one at the top of each tibia (aka shinbone) under the insertion points of the tendon which runs from the patella (aka kneecap) to the tibia.

My husband’s niece – a doctor – visited a week after I fell and suggested xraying because her initial diagnosis was that I had at least one fracture. She was right!

In my case, the avulsion fractures mean that small fragments of bone have partially detached from the tibia. This is good news. Bigger fragments and full detachment would have required surgery. Although I’m not standing or walking on dry land yet, I can still go to hydrotherapy where bouyancy limits my weight-bearing without impeding my range of movement, and can continue with my daily exercises.

The doctor in A&E said healing will take 6-12 weeks. No medication, no splints, no surgery. I’m okay with that. It’s been just over 2 weeks and the pain is gone and my range of movement is almost back to where it was before the fall. The xrays also showed that my bones are thin but we knew that would happen as I haven’t walked for two years. (Astronauts also develop osteoporosis if they spend many months in space – up to 2% bone loss per month for some.) I will continue with my supplements and get back on my feet as soon as is reasonably possible.

Am I annoyed with myself and this setback? Most definitely, yes. But it could have been worse and I’m very thankful that it isn’t.

About louisehasgbs

Still an optimist! Recovering from severe Guillain-Barre Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

