Pratchett, Ponderings, Progress

My eldest daughter truly enjoyed reading Terry Pratchett’s books when she was younger, but I have never read any even though I do read and enjoy sci-fi, fantasy and comedy amongst other genres.  Initially, I mistakenly assumed they were books for children but they never got onto my liist of books to read even after I found out that I was wrong.  Needless to say, a Pratchett book will make its way to us shortly and it will be read.

A remarkable man and author, by all accounts, Pratchett faced Alzheimer’s with great courage.   That his imaginative and prolific brain should begin degenerating in his 50’s is cruel.  Not that it isn’t cruel when it happens to anyone else, of course. To lose your abilities and personality and to be lost to family and friends is devastating.  My sister-in-law’s father has Alzheìmer’s and he has hasn’t recognised his family for a few years, which has been very painful for them.   It is great that both “The Theory of Everything” and “Still Alice” received Academy awards this year.  The more the effects of these debilitating illnesses are brought to the fore, the better people will understand the suffering they cause and – hopefully – have greater empathy with sufferers and their families.  We can only hope that an appropriate treatment can be developed now that the cause is known.

My recovery from Guillain-Barre Syndrome continues, thankfully.  I have been going to hydrotherapy for 4 weeks and we have seen a definite improvement in my balance, muscle strength and endurance in this timeframe.  It is still too slow for my liking and Sunday was one of those days where I found it very challenging to put on a happy face, retain perspective and soldier on.  The reality is that I have made good progress in the past year and my neurologist is very pleased with that progress.  The other reality is that I don’t have a degenerative motor neurone disease or Alzheimer’s and I need to be more grateful for that.  My worst trait – impatience – remains my biggest enemy.  Perhaps it’s time to start meditating every day again.

About louisehasgbs

Still an optimist! Recovering from severe Guillain-Barre Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

