Enduring and persevering

The Cambridge Dictionary’s definition of endurance is: “the ability to keep doing something difficult, unpleasant, or painful for a long time”. This could relate to physical, emotional and mental challenges in our personal and professional lives. Every person has his/her perceived limit of human endurance, but when this imagined boundary is pushed, most people pick themselves up and carry on. Some say they HAVE to endure because they have no choice to do otherwise. Some endure because they don’t want to disappoint others who depend on them emotionally or financially. Others endure because failure is unthinkable. Whatever the reason, it’s a personal choice and personal journey.

What got me thinking about endurance was a recently emailed pot-shot from Ashleigh Brilliant which reads as follows:

Look for me somewhere beyond the limits of human endurance.”

Ashleigh is 81. He broke an arm 4 weeks ago and his wife is very frail. He previously broke a leg in an accident and spent many months recuperating from that. Despite all the downs he has experienced, I would say he’s not beyond human endurance yet as he’s still able to cope and carry on thinking up more thought-provoking pot-shots. Read more here: http://www.ashleighbrilliant.com/catalog.html

Of course, my own physical situation requires mental, physical and emotional endurance. Just when I get to the point when I think I can’t handle any more frustration – resulting from my lack of independence – people step into my life and help me through that phase. My family and friends are and have been my emotional bedrock, but each new person who steps into my life adds to my rehabilitation in a positive way.

Since my first Occupational Therapy session a month ago, I now feed myself at every meal time; brush most of my teeth (my helper brushes those I can’t reach yet); roll myself onto my side and swing my legs over the edge of the bed before pushing myself up off the bed. I can stand with minimal support for up to 20 minutes, and walk about 10m with the help of 2 people who support me under both arms.

Enter “Bianca” from a local homecare equipment company. In addition to the commode, she is also sourcing a gait training walker that will enable me to stand up, walk into rooms, and sit on a normal chair; something none of my therapists were aware of. I am really looking forward to more physical independence as this will also help to reduce my levels of frustration. I have spent many hours on the internet searching for self-help articles relating to learning to be patient with myself (and others!) But never found anything that really spoke to me. I did, however, find “7 Ways to Establishing Emotional Endurance” here: http://www.hitchedmag.com/article.php?id=1807 These do speak to me and I hope the article will help others too.

This is my last post for 2014; I’ll start updating my blog again in the new year. Season’s greetings to everyone and best wishes for a happy, healthy and successful 2015!

About louisehasgbs

Still an optimist! Recovering from severe Guillain-Barre Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

