What’s do Emma’s granddaughter and I have in common?

We can both hold onto a firm surface, wobble on our feet, and take small sideway steps, like wary crabs, before our knees get too weak and gravity tugs our behinds towards the ground!

Emma’s little cherub is 15 months old and I am a few days away from my 16th monthly commemoration of developing GBS.  When I was in ICU a psychologist advised me to measure my progress weekly instead of daily, as daily progress is too small to get excited about.

I now use different timeline markers to measure my progress:

  • Quadiplegic in mid-May 2013; can now stand and step sideways.  (I still need 2 people to get me into a standing position, though.)
  • Unable to sit in a wheelchair for more than 15 minutes when admitted to the rehab clinic in September last year; can now easily transfer into the wheelchair and car with one helper, go to a movie, visit friends, work on my Tablet for hours, sit in the garden, and supervise meal preparations.
  • No arm movement when I got home at the end of January this year; can now push my wheelchair short distances, stroke our pets, wipe hair from my face, move my specs up when they slide down my nose, and use my thumb to screen-scroll!

Recovery is tangible and my last self-pity crying jag was 3 weeks ago.  I am looking forward to the day when I can start the weaning process to stop taking anti-depressants and the anticoagulant, but standing and walking for long periods of time will have to happen first and that’s what we’re working towards.

Just got to take life one day at a time.

About louisehasgbs

Still an optimist! Recovering from severe Guillain-Barre Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

