14 Months to the Day…

“I’LL LISTEN TO YOUR UNREASONABLE DEMANDS IF YOU’LL CONSIDER MY UNACCEPTABLE OFFER – ASHLEIGH BRILLIANT”

This is how I felt when diagnosed with Guillain-Barre Syndrome 14 months ago. Within 7 days I went from being independent, active and busy to quadraplegic and unable to breathe on my own. That it could take up to 2 or 3 years to reach full recovery was unthinkable and unacceptable. Having been a registered nurse many years ago, I would learn first-hand how it felt to be a longterm patient.

The purpose of this site is to share my recovery process and give hope to other GBS recoverees, their families and friends. I have also included tips and provided links to relevant websites.

My progess has been slow but sure. I am more patient than before. There are more emotionally good days than bad. I can sit in a wheelchair for a number of hours at a time and my leg movement is increasing. My hands are still very weak, though, so I have to type using a stylus in my mouth.  I saw Dr A, my neurologist, on 14 July 2014, exactly 14 months to the day and date after developing the first symptoms, and she said I’m making good progress.

My story is told in 7 parts. See “About Me & About GBS” for more details.  The first 3 parts are published, the others are nearly finished and will be published within 2-3 weeks.

About louisehasgbs

Still an optimist! Recovering from severe Guillain-Barre Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Guillain-Barre Syndrome, Health, Journal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

